Kenya Hockey, Kenya Hockey News, Kenya Hockey Match Reports, Hockey Fixtures, Hockey Videos, Africa Hockey

KHU Press Release on disputed men’s league winners

November 4, 2010


The Kenya Hockey Union hsa urgently constituted a six member sub-committee to resolve the dispute sorrounding the winners of this year’smens hockey premiership. According to the chairman of the union Resham Singh Bains, the sub-committee will be chaired by the treasurer of the Kenya National Sports Council Mr. Charles Nyaberi.

Teddy Jhite who is the Kenya Hockey Umpires Association will serve as Secretary of the sub-committee.

Other members include James Chacha Assistant Secretary General National Olympic Committee of Kenya, Elynah Shiveka Vice Chairperson KHU,Jane Nyamogo match secretary and David Ngugi member KNSC (Kenya National Sports Council).

The sub-committees mandate is to ensure that the bone of contention is handled in a proffessionaland fair manner to the satisfaction of the parties concerned.

The sub-committee is sitting on Saturday 6/11/2010 at 10:00 am at the City Park hockey stadium to deliberate on the matter and come up with a solution.

It is only after the meeting and the findings that this year’s men’s premier league champions will be announced officially.

Defending champions Strathmore University and former champions Kenya Police each are claiming to be the title winners.

Meanwhile the chairman of the Union Mr. Resham Singh Bains and the vice chairperson Elynah Shiveka leave the country over the weekend to Montreux, Switerland to attend committee meetings and the FIH congress. Mr.Resham sits on the FIH Umpiring commiittee while Mrs. Shiveka serves on the Communications and IT committee.

Resham S. Bains
Chairman – Kenya Hockey Union

[download the press release]

Kenya Hockey Union Press release on disputed 2010 men's league championship

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>